Saturday, April 20th, 2002 | 7:38
when the wind blows, the cradle will...

I groggily but not grouchily sat up in bed. The clock said 6:54 am. I blinked a couple of times and realized that my bed was moving back and forth. Occasionally, when large trucks go by, the computer room will shake for a few seconds, but after nearly ten, I clued in. I lay back down and enjoyed the gently rocking of my entire house. It was very soothing, like being rocked in a crib as an infant. It stopped after what I think was a minute, but I wasn't really paying much attention to the time. I turned on the radio, looking for some validation. "Four Canadians" this and "George W." that, but nothing about a minor earthquake. I got up and my brother confirmed the tremors by showing me all the things that had danced around.

I vaguely remember being in an earthquake when I was younger, maybe 89? Does anyone else remember that?

back | forth | older | guestbook | mail | profile | rings | diaryland