Wednesday, June 19th, 2002 | 12:52
"The human cannon hesitates..."

"Found in Webster's New World Dictionary: Second College Edition �1970

etaoin shrdlu: Two sequences of letters forming the two left-hand vertical rows of a linotype keyboard: If a linotyper makes an error in setting, he often fill out the line by running a finger down these rows, and etaoin shrdlu may thus accidentally appear in print.
-----
A little while ago, I saw a word in the same dictionary with a definition that was something like "the evolution of word spelling through common mispronunciation" and the example was "cole slaw ==> cold slaw."
I haven't been able to find it since and no one I ask has ever heard of such a word. I'm starting to think I made it up.
My mind thinks it started with an "e"
"
-----
I wrote that fifteen months ago. I still haven't been able to find the word.
-----
I miss her
The lights go down, the knife man sleeps and I wonder where you are. -Matthew Good Band (LIfe as a Circus Clown)
=====
Anthemic

back | forth | older | guestbook | mail | profile | rings | diaryland